Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

81sc7DMQEVL._SL1500_

“I have a meanness inside me, real as an organ. Slit me at my belly and it might slide out, meaty and dark, drop on the floor so you could stomp on it.” 

 

Libby Day was just seven years old when her evidence put her fifteen-year-old brother behind bars.

Since then, she has been drifting. But when she is contacted by a group who are convinced of Ben’s innocence, Libby starts to ask questions she never dared to before. Was the voice she heard her borther’s? Ben was a misfit in their small town, but was he capable of murder? Are there secrets to uncover at the family farm or is Libby deluding herself because she wants her brother back?

She begins to realize that everyone in her family had something to hide that day… especially Ben. Now, twenty-four years later, the truth is going to be even harder to find.

Who did massacre the Day family?

Anne’s Review

***** 5 *****

I read Gillian Flynn’s book Sharp Objects along time ago.  At that time I was into a different genre of books and when I read her book I was just surprised how dark and twisted it was.   Then last year I saw the movie Gone Girl and I thought it was incredibly good.  I decided I needed to read the book and that was when I realized she was the same author as Sharp Objects.  I enjoyed the book Gone Girl. I wanted to check if she had any other books. That was when I came across Dark Places.

Dark Places has a similar formula as Gone Girl; writing style that is.  It tells the story from the point of view of three people- Patty Day, Ben Day and Libby Day.  It goes back and forth between the present time with Libby and the day before the massacre with Patty and Ben.  The book starts off with Libby 24 yrs later after she confessed that her brother Ben killed her mother and two younger sisters.  Libby was only seven years old when the murders happened and ever since then she has been a recluse and never actually questioned what really happened that night.  As a  reader it just grabs you from the beginning.  How they can even believe a seven year old can positively confess to such a huge thing and for everyone in town to believe her.  The entire time I’m trying to guess who the hell killed her family.  Then she randomly just meets this guy Lyle from a so called secret group that is obsessed with investigating crimes and they were willing to pay Libby to dig up the past. The group feels that Ben is innocent and someone else killed her family.  The Kill Group/Club was a bit weird for me but I won’t be surprised if they really do have those types of groups.  From there, the story will take you back with Libby to her past; to her dark places.

Gillian Flynn is such an amazing storyteller. She knows how to keep you intrigued despite perfecting the most fucked up characters ever read. Especially the guys. She portrays the guys as cowards and the females controlling.  I seriously never ever liked any of her characters in her books but yet I still love her stories.  She just knows how to twist everything and keeps you wanting more of it.  This book is one of my favorites from her.  This will also be a movie this year.

I chose my characters based on the actors they have chosen for the big screen:

"In the Valley of Elah" Press Conference With Charlize Theron and Paul Haggis - September 21, 2007

Old Libby Day

( Charlize Theron )

Nicholas-Hoult-CelebHealthy_com

Lyle

( Nicholas Hoult )

Christina-Hendricks-Firefly-Screencaps-christina-hendricks-8730442-1365-768

Patty Day

( Christina Hendricks )

thestrain_gallery_coreystoll_1200_article_story_large

Old Ben Day

( Corey Stoll )

Happy-18th-Birthday-Tye-Sheridan-141111-02

Young Ben Day

( Tye Sheridan )

– He was in the movie MUDD and I thought he was really good. I think he is perfect to play Ben.

****** Now these characters pretty important in the book/story but I will rather have you figure out who they are than me telling you.  Trust me it is so worth it.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Trey Teppano, Ben Day, and Diondra.

** Two important girls in Ben’s story

chloe-moretz

Diondra

( Chloe Grace Moretz )

– I love Chloe Moretz.  I can’t wait to see her in this role. It will be totally different but other characters she had played in the past.

Addy-Miller-6b1

Krissi Cates

( Addy Miller )

 ** soundtrack **

1. Imagine Dragons – Demons

2. U2 – Invisible

3. Metallica – Enter Sandman

4. Nirvana – Smells Like Teen Spirit

5. Guns N’ Roses – Sweet Child O’Mine

6. AC/DC – Highway to Hell

Leave a Reply

