Looking for Alaska by John Green

41r-sKjJ61L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

“Before I got here, I thought for a long time that the way out of the labyrinth was to pretend that it did not exist, to build a small, self-sufficient world in the back corner of the endless maze and to pretend that I was not lost, but home.” 

 

 Before. Miles “Pudge” Halter’s whole existence has been one big nonevent, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave the “Great Perhaps” (François Rabelais, poet) even more. He heads off to the sometimes crazy, possibly unstable, and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed-up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young, who is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart.

  After. Nothing is ever the same

Anne’s Review

**** 4 stars ****

John Green is an amazing writer and somehow has the perfect formula for teen’s stories.  He can capture the best and the worst minds of teenagers and I’m certainly far from a teen but as I read this story it brought me back to my teen self.  The way we felt like we are invincible and we felt like everything was so important from the biggest to the smallest problem, we thought that it was the ultimate end.  Like he said:

” Teenagers think they are invincible.” We need never to be hopeless, because we can never be irreparably broken. We think that we are invincible because we are.  We cannot be born, and we cannot die. Like all energy, we can only change shapes and sizes and manifestations. They forget that when they get old. They get scared of losing and failing.  But that part of us greater than the sum of our parts cannot begin and cannot end, and so it cannot fail.”

I can probably relate a bit more with Pudge.  I was never that much of a risk taker when I was that age but I was also not that naive.  I definitely had that kind group of friends that were the ” cool ” ones. They just did everything they wanted despite of the consequences and I on the other hand, was the conscience of the group.  But I have never ever regretted everything that happened.  Life is too short and we all need to find that “Great Perhaps.”

This book definitely doesn’t hide anything. It shows every single thing that I’m sure teens are doing now or then. I love that John Green’s characters are real and somehow reminds us of people we’ve known in the past.  I love it. This book deals a lot with friendship, suffering, guilt, loss, grief and compassion.

The reason why I gave this a 4 star instead of a 5 because I felt like Alaska and Pudge had little chemistry.  But I guess that’s how the author wanted us to feel.  Pudge truly and madly in love with her but yet I cannot see the reason for it since she is just this self-destructive girl. She is wild, indecisive and impulsive at the same time. But I guess that is the allure that caught Pudge. She is someone that he never encountered before with his safe and boring life in Florida. I will never understand how he felt for her but I was wishing for more from Alaska and Pudge’s story, just like  how he wanted as well. Overall an amazing book.  John Green can never disappoint.

tumblr_mkc2wbfn1d1s2n35po1_500_large

1304973584199.cached wine-drinking

2c9803149707bf69cdaef84a314e4f77

Characters:

dylan-obrien-black-shirt

Pudge

“Francois Rabelais. He was this poet. And his last words were ‘I go to seek a Great Perhaps.’ That’s why I’m going. So I don’t have to wait until I die to start seeking a Great Perhaps.” – Miles “Pudge” Halter

936full-phoebe-tonkin

Alaska

“We can’t love our neighbors till we know how crooked their hearts are.”

– Alaska Young

large

Colonel

“After all this time, it still seems to me like straight and fast is the only way out—but I choose the labyrinth. The labyrinth blows, but I choose it.” 

– Chip ” Colonel ” Martin

tumblr_nau3yfcPZS1retckpo3_500

Two-White-Daisy

Thomas Edison’s last words were: “It’s very beautiful over there.” I don’t know where there is, but I believe it’s somewhere, and I hope it’s beautiful.”

** soundtrack **

1.  Meghan Trainor ft. Nathan Sykes – Like I’m Going to Lose you

2. Nathan Sykes – More Than You’ll Ever Know

3. Ellie Goulding – Love Me Like You Do

4. Evanescence – My Immortal

5. Seether – Broken

6. 3 Doors Down – Here Without You

book:

http://www.amazon.com/Looking-Alaska-John-Green/dp/0142402516/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1431387005&sr=8-1&keywords=looking+alaska

photos:

http://www.Google.com

videos:

http://www.Youtube.com

Leave a Reply

